Portsmouth Dreadnoughts End Of Year Awards 2016

Sunday evening saw the Dreadnoughts arrive suited and booted at Havant RFC for the teams Annual Awards Dinner. The awards, decided by the coaches with the exception of Players Player, rewarded those who had make outstanding contributions to the teams efforts on the field.

The highest accolade of the night, Team MVP, went to Defensive Lineman Jake Hancock. Jake terrorised offenses this past year, setting a club record with 14 sacks in just 9 games. Jake had this to say after being announced as the winner – “I was very shocked to hear my name called out for the awards that I received, it was a great honour and I have loved every single moment at the club! I would like to thank the coaches & the players for your support”.

Offensive MVP went to Running Back Will Purkiss, who led the club in rushing touchdowns on the year and was consistent in pass protection and as a receiver out of the backfield.

Defensive MVP went to Defensive Back Joe Clulow. Often seen flying in to make a big, touchdown saving stop, Clulow was also a factor against the pass and led the club in interceptions in 2016.

Special Teams MVP was awarded to Punter Will Purkiss, whose howitzer of a right boot flipped field position on a number of occasions and kept opposing offenses pinned back in their own half to start their drives.

Offensive Rookie of the Year was awarded to Wide Receiver John Cowen, who showed consistent development throughout the year and became one of the more consistent targets in the passing game.

Defensive Rookie of the Year went to Defensive Lineman Mike Kiddell. Earning playing time in a strong defensive line rotation, Mike was a frequent fixture in opposing backfields.

Most Improved Player of the Year went to Linebacker Scott Quade, who has developed into one of the most consistent run defenders at the club.

Lineman of the Year was awarded to Center Neil Gibbs. Often used as a pulling lineman due to his quickness and aggressive play, the man known as “Tebow” led the offensive line group which was consistent throughout the season.

Coaches Player of the Year went to Defensive Lineman Mike Kiddell. Mike’s level of play, development throughout the season and his inspiring dedication to the club made him an easy choice for this award.

Lastly, Players Player of the Year was awarded to Defensive Lineman Jake Hancock for his incredible performances throughout the season.


Photo Credit – Ken Matcham. You can view more of Ken’s work at his website http://kenmatcham.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *